top of page

Goals for 2015-2016 School Year

So, last year was my first year at homeschooling, and everything was new and exciting. I had created this perfect little bubble in my mind of how each day was going to flow so gracefully. Our home was going to be impeccably organized all the time. I was going to have each and every lesson planned out well in advance, and all the children were going to listen intently to every word I said. They were going to have all sorts of time to pursue their “special interests,” and I was going to feel completely fulfilled and satisfied that I was now such a wonderful mom because I homeschool my kids.

Of course, that bubble burst within the first 30 minutes of our first school day. After my 3-year-old interrupted my lesson 15 times, demanding that I help him put together his potato head guys and instead, I threatened to “chuck them out the window,” I knew I needed to adjust my expectations and my priorities.

Our first year of homeschool became a process of ebbing and flowing – trying things out, seeing how they work, learning how to work with all the distractions and interruptions, making schedules and then changing them, moving from trying to do everything for the kids and the house, to allowing the boys to help each other and to help me.

And even though, as I think about the upcoming school year, and I worry that all my supplies haven’t arrived in the mail yet, and I haven’t firmed up my co-op schedule, and I haven’t vacuumed under all the rugs, I feel more emotionally ready this year, as compared to last year.

("Project: Get-Organized-Before-the-School-Year" is still a work in progress)

I’ve been thinking about what goals I want to set for the new year, and I’ve decided to keep it simple and just focus on a few:

I feel it’s a good start, and I’m sure as we go along, I’ll think of new goals, but for now, these are the main areas that I would like to make a change on this year.

What ideas are you wanting to focus on more this year?

Hi!  I’m Laurie.  I’m so glad you’re here!  Welcome to Upenover!

 

 “Upenover” began as the name of my magical, childhood, make-believe land where anything was possible.

 

Now, to me, “Upenover” represents  a state of mind, inviting POSSIBILITY into every-day life.

 

Recent Posts
Categories
No tags yet.
Archive
bottom of page